Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for the Union of Nova Scotia Mi’kmaq is comprised of the Chiefs of any Nova Scotia’s First Nation communities affiliated with the association. Presently, five (5) of the 13 Mi’kmaw communities are associated with UNSM. The populations within these communities represent approximately 60 per cent of the registered Indian population in Nova Scotia.

UNSM Board of Directors

Kji Saqmaw (Grand Chief) Norman Sylliboy
Chief Leroy Denny – Eskasoni
Chief Terrance Paul – Membertou
Chief Wilbert Marshall – Potlotek
Chief Norman Bernard – Wagmatcook
Chief Roderick Googoo – We’kokma’q
District Chief Alex Christmas
Kji Keptin (Grand Captin) Antle Denny – Mi’kmaw Grand Council
Regional Chief Morley Googoo – Assembly of First Nations

Mi’kmaq Grand Chief Norman Sylliboy of the Mi’kmaq Grand Council is an honorary board member. UNSM by-laws also allow for the inclusion of additional non-voting representatives to the board from larger Mi’kmaw communities, such as Eskasoni. The Board of Directors hold four (4) meetings annually.


Douglas Brown, Executive Director


UNSI has a long history of advocating and litigating for Aboriginal and treaty rights, and now adds focus on providing innovative governance capacity services to member bands.

UNSI’s works to provide member bands with modern governance knowledge and best practices.  Our goal is that each community can further shape these governance templates and concepts towards their own unique needs.

It is exciting and fast moving times for the Union of Nova Scotia Indians and I am up to the challenges ahead ,and have complete faith that UNSI staff, and myself, are up to the task.

Wela’lio’q, and thank you.  If you have any questions, comments, concerns or recommendations for UNSI, or the website, please contact us at any time.

Contact Executive Director